Baton Rouge


Baton Rouge is located on the eastern bank of the Mississippi River and forms the parish seat of the East Baton Rouge Parish. Baton Rouge is located on the northwestern edges of Lakes Maurepas and Lake Pontchartrain and across from New Orleans.

The capitol of the state of Louisiana, Baton Rouge is also the second-largest city in the state after New Orleans, with an estimated 227,700 residents. Baton Rouge is the home of Louisiana State University (“LSU”), and with it the LSU Tigers NCAA Division I athletic program, which has consistently dominated the collegiate sports world with 48 Bowl appearances and 47 overall men’s and women’s team National Championships. The University’s football program alone draws crowds of over 100,000 fans to Baton Rouge seven times a year to watch the Tigers play.

The city is known for its Cajun and Creole heritage, with streets lined with restaurants serving the spiciest foods in the Bayou and flavorful Caribbean home cooking and a nightlife of Jazz and Blues.